Mushrooms and Cinnamon

July 9, 2010 at 1:42 am | Posted in Uncategorized | 1 Comment
Tags: , , , , ,

Healthy “Fried” Rice

Brown rice mixed with mushrooms, baby tomatoes, and broccoli. Seasoned with paprika, curry powder, cumin, and cooked in a generous amount of olive oil.

This was last nights dinner 🙂 my mom and I enjoyed it immensely. It was also extremely easy to make. All you do is cook the veggies in some olive oil (about 3-4 tbsp) until they soak up all the oil and seem ready. Then you add in the brown rice (which should be already cooked! lol.) and add a touch more olive oil on top of the rice then mix it all together. I added more olive oil on the rice to make it more like “fried” rice but it didn’t really work ): oh well. It was still super tasty. I’d been craving fried rice for a long time, it used to be one of my favorite foods pre-ed, so I opted for this instead of greasy fast food Chinese fried rice.

I was also inspired by Operation Beautiful.

For some time I’ve been thinking of what to do with this horrible device (I’ve officially stopped weighing myself. And measuring food. Hellz yeah!) so I was web creepin’ and found out about Operation Beautiful. I was so inspired by all of their adorable and encouraging messages, I knew exactly what I needed to do to my scale!

I was also thinking about how sick our society these days is. I remember at school last year I was talking to one of my friends about how I wanted to lose weight so bad (I was really deep in my ed then…) and she told me that she did too. She then said how she doesn’t eat breakfast, doesn’t eat lunch, and just eats dinner. Right now, she’s a good healthy weight and isn’t underweight or unhealthy, but still. Having an ed doesn’t mean being underweight, so I’m really worried about her. I want to talk to her about how this is completely unhealthy and could end up killing her but she’s most likely not gonna listen to me. I told her about how your body goes into starvation mode and you end up actually gaining weight from not eating enough, but she wouldn’t believe me! I also have another friend who’s a guy but is extremely conscious about his weight. He still eats, just has an extremely low self esteem. And while he does still eat, it’s barely anything. Why do ed’s have to be everywhere?! >< I wish I could tell everyone how beautiful they are right now and force them to believe it. lol. I just really don’t want to see my own friends go through the suffering that I went through…

Kashi Go Lean! Crunch mixed with pumpkin puree and topped with chopped strawberries.

I’m really starting to love my breakfasts more than all my other meals >3< this was the perfect combination though, believe it or not. I was all out of almond milk (noooo!) so I had to find a substitute to mix my cereal in cause I was not gonna just have dry cereal with fruit on top. Yuck. So I used pumpkin! So yum. I want another bowl now…

At the studio I started to draw a picture that I’m so close to being done with. I’ll probably finish tomorrow so I’ll take a picture of it and post it on my next post 🙂 oh, and I’ve decided only to post my main meals (breakfast, lunch, dinner) cause I’m lazy and don’t like taking lotsa pictures of food. lol.

2 slices of ezekiel bread spread with thick layers of almond butter and raspberry jam. On the side I had mushrooms and broccoli with cinnamon sprinkled on top.

Yeah…if you ever make this don’t sprinkle cinnamon on the veggies. lol. It made them taste kinda funny O.o

Then I was off to do my French. It’s truly a beautiful language. I’m really loving learning it 🙂 I feel more romantic when I speak it haha.

Lentils seasoned with cumin, paprika, red pepper, and curry powder, mixed with steamed carrots and mushrooms, served alongside brown rice and a thin layer of lettuce.

Yes, I know it looks like barf. But it was extremely delicious barf (lol). My mom had some of it on her salad and my brother was too scared to touch it x) oh, picky eaters…

Later on my mom took me to fresh market so I could get food stuffs. I was in desperate need of almond milk and pumpkin puree…I’m a strange person. So when we were checking out apparently the cashier guy was in a chatty mood and ended up telling us a 10 minute long story about how he lit a dynamite at the beach. It was actually a kinda funny story so I didn’t really mind 🙂 I found some more Kashi Go Lean! cereal so I’m pretty much fully stocked on cereals now. Oh! And I got a mini squeeze pack thing of Justin’s maple almond butter! It’s so cute! I can’t wait to use it >3<


1 Comment »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. i love operation beautiful! i do that too! and my family makes fried rice like that often as well, so yummy. 🙂
    lucie


Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

